Prof. Dr. D.Litt. (hon.)

Wolfgang Amann

Academic Advisor

Detailpage_AM
Berufliche Laufbahn

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Amann ist Professor für Strategie und Führung an der HEC Paris. Er fungiert dort zudem als Direktor der Executive-Education-Programme. Zuvor war er Direktor der MBA-Programmfamilie an der Universität St. Gallen. Danach war Prof. Dr. Amann akademischer und geschäftsführender Direktor der Goethe Business School an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt sowie Gründer der Complexity Management Academy. Darüber hinaus leitete er erfolgreich die Bestrebungen der European Business School (EBS), im Jahr 2011 den Universitätsstatus zu erlangen. Über seine akademischen Tätigkeiten hinaus hat Prof. Dr. Amann eine Vielzahl praktischer Beratungsprojekte durchgeführt und dabei zahlreiche Unternehmen langjährig begleitet.

Schwerpunkte

Prof. Dr. Amann ist Experte für strategisches Management und Business Wargaming (Komplexitätsmanagement). Er hat mehr als 40 Bücher und 100 Fallstudien für seine Seminare zur Weiterbildung von Führungskräften veröffentlicht.

Akademischer Werdegang

Sein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit Vertiefung Internationales Management und Strategie schloß Prof. Dr. Amann an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) ab. Danach promovierte er an der Universität St. Gallen über erfolgreiche Internationalisierung. Er ist zudem Absolvent der weltweit wichtigsten Entwicklungsprogramme für Hochschullehrer, z.B. folgender:

  • Management & Leadership in Education (MLE), Harvard University
  • International Teachers Programme (ITP), Institute for Management Development (IMD)
  • International Faculty Program (IFP), IESE Business School
  • International Management Teachers Academy (IMTA), Central and East European Management Development Association (CEEMAN)

Für seine Forschung und Lehre wurde er mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Unter anderem gewann er vier Lehrpreise an der Universität St. Gallen. Sein Strategiekurs wurde wiederholt zum besten Kurs des CEMS-Programms in 17 europäischen Ländern gewählt. Seit über zwei Dekaden ist er nun in der Weiterbildung von Führungskräften führender Unternehmen tätig.

Funktionale Expertise
  • Strategisches Management
  • Business Wargaming

Prof. Dr. D.Litt. (hon.)

Wolfgang Amann

Academic Advisor

Detailpage_AM
Employment History

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Amann is professor of strategy and leadership at HEC Paris where he also serves as academic director of the open, certificate, custom and degree programs.  Previously, he acted as director of the MBA program family at the University of St. Gallen (HSG).  Prof. Dr. Amann was the executive director of executive education at Goethe Business School, Goethe University Frankfurt and the founder of the Complexity Management Academy.  Moreover, he successfully led the European Business School’s (EBS) effort to obtain university status in 2011.  He has also been advising many leading organizations over many years.

Main Focuses

Prof. Dr. Amann is an expert in strategic management and business wargaming (complexity management).  He published more than 40 books and 100 case studies for his executive education seminars.

Educational & Academic Background

Prof. Dr. Amann studied business administration at the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) majoring in international management and strategy.  He then earned his doctorate in international management at the University of St. Gallen.  In addition, he honed his executive education and academic leadership skills in key faculty development programs worldwide:

  • Management & Leadership in Education (MLE) at Harvard University
  • International Teachers Programme (ITP) at the Institute for Management Development (IMD)
  • International Faculty Program (IFP) at IESE Business School
  • International Management Teachers Academy (IMTA) at the Central and East European Management Development Association (CEEMAN)

He repeatedly won awards for his research, teaching, and academic impact projects.  For example, he won four teaching awards at the University of St. Gallen and his CEMS course on strategy has been repeatedly elected as best course amongst all CEMS courses offered in 17 European countries.  He has now been active in executive education and consulting for 22 years.

Core Functional Expertise
  • Strategic Management
  • Business Wargaming